Reviews

To write you own review of the Trooperstown Wood Lodge please follow the link here

I stayed in this B&B for one night and really liked the place. the women that was in charge was really very friendly from the moment you came through the door, she showed you were everything was and they had fresh tea and coffees. the rooms were very clean and lots lg space. very warm at night. felt very safe in the B&B to. loved that they picked you up in a car to take you to the restaurant for dinner. you have to have your breakfast in the restaurant but I liked this ad this is something different and that food was good and it was all apart of the package. good time to go in August, when it's busy. great place for people visiting Ireland to.

 

Reviewed 19 August 2015

 

Glendalough and the Wicklow Mountains are beautiful and intriguing, and this lodge, at a very affordable price, is a match to its surroundings. The common rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable, and always equipped with coffee and tea. They are among the best lounges of any lodging in which I have stayed, characterized by a classy hunting lodge decor. If you would prefer fresh air, the grounds have plenty of places to stroll and sit with a cup of tea and your thoughts.
The rooms themselves are comfortable and welcoming, and the bathrooms are INCREDIBLE. They too had a look from another time in history and the showers are among the strongest and hottest I had in my entire trip through Ireland. Even the shampoo and body washes were notably superior.
Breakfast is not at the lodge, but at a restaurant in town under the same ownership. The breakfast was spectacular and the staff warm and hospitable. Furthermore, if there was need for a ride into town, there was no hesitation to call someone from the restaurant to come and provide a lift. Every need was anticipated and met.
Glendalough is a must for visiting Ireland, and Trooperstown Wood Lodge is a must for staying near Glendalough.

Reviewed by Nathan R, 18 August 2015

 

Elaine, who had arranged our booking greeted us in the mornings and served us with lovely breakfasts giving good advice on routes to take. Betty, the owner, made sure our stay was everything we wanted it to be and was keen to ensure that we were happy with our meals – which we were. Before arriving we had intended to try various eating places. However, we enjoyed the atmosphere, food and friendliness of the Wicklow Heather so much we ate there every evening – with a choice of a couple of menus if opting for an earlier meal.

The free shuttle to and from The Wicklow Heather was a great asset and was always prompt. The apartment was clean, well appointed, spacious, with a very comfortable bed and an excellent shower. It was also lovely and warm which was great as the snow had started to lie as we arrived. We had tea and coffee making facilities in our room, a variety of biscuits, and a fridge; also a TV and a number of DVD’s. We were able to borrow reading material from the main Guesthouse which housed a wide variety of many old books. The apartment was also very quiet being detached. There was no wardrobe in the room but there was a large coat stand and I had brought a few hangers so that was fine – there was also a single bed so able to put things there.

The setting of the Lodge is beautiful and the gardens extensive and lovely with numerous places to sit in better weather. It is five minutes by car from Glendalough and a wonderful base from which to explore the natural beauty of Wicklow: the Wicklow Gap with snow was breathtaking, the Vale of Avoca, the Meeting of the Waters, the Sally Gap, Blessington Lakes. Would we return? Yes!

 

Reviewed 2 April 2013

If we could have, we would have stayed for a week at this delightful lodge, nestled on a hill with wonderful views of the snow capped Wicklow mountains. On our arrival, we were warmly greeted by Erica. A friendly and smiley lady who made us feel welcome from that moment.

After being shown to our room, we were encouraged to the lounge at the end of the lodge with its high ceiling, cast iron fireplace with a lit fire and cosy seats to enjoy as many cups of tea or coffee and biscuits as we could manage. We settled in here for our evening with other couples which had a relaxed atmosphere. Our double room was spacious and well furnished and conveniently located on the ground floor.

Despite being next to the main entrance of the lodge, the comfortable bed ensured that we slept undisturbed until the next morning when we departed for our breakfast down in the town and on to our hike around Glendalough.

This was a home away from home and we'll definitely be returning to stay for longer the next time.

 

Reviewed 12 November 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we (reluctantly) left, Trooperstown far and away exceeded our expectations Alas myself and my girlfriend were only staying for a weekend but we would have happily remained longer. The lodge is beautifully furnished, the rooms are cosy and warm, and Erika, the manageress, is an absolute delight and could not be more accommodating.

This is true of all the staff at the restaurant too who will drive you too and from the lodge or to Glendalough (a real timesaver if you've not got a car!). And the food - oh good lord, the food is amazing but - be warned - the portions are enormous and we often struggled to clear our plates.

I really can't recommend Trooperstown highly enough - it's an absolute gem and if you're thinking of trekking around Glendalough I really can't think of a better place to rest your weary feet.

 

Reviewed 1 August 2012

The B&B is in the hills above the town and the view is spectacular. The house is beautifully appointed and is filled with old books. Grounds are beautifully landscaped. The hostess Erika is extremely helpful and made our stay a happy one.

The lodge is affiliated with the Wicklow Heather restaurant (also very good) in the village, and the owners provide transportation to and from dinner. The excellent breakfast is also at the restaurant. We would happily stay here again.

 

Reviewed 17 July 2012

My mother and I stayed in Trooperstown for a weekend as we were doing some walking in Glendalough. The host Ericia could not have been nicer. She made us feel very welcome and took care of our every need. The room was clean and comfortable.

There were lovely rooms downstairs to read and relax.

We had to go down the road to the restaurant for breakfast but we didn't mind. It was worth the journey.

We would highly recommend Trooperstown Wood Lodge and thank you to Ericia for making it so memorable.

 

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We recently completed a 3 week vacation during which we around the entire island of Ireland. Over 20 nights we stayed in 18 different Bed & Breakfasts, paying between €50 to €80, and £60 to £65 in Northern Island. This review is based upon the relative merits of Trooperstown with respect to others that we visited.

Trooperstown is an excellent Bed & Breakfast – big rooms that felt new. Very quiet. We paid €75 for one night stay– we stayed in Room 9. The parking lot for Trooperstown was huge, it is easy to park your car (while driving in Ireland on the opposite side of the road, with the manual gear shift in my “wrong” hand I became acutely aware of parking issues). There is a sitting room with coffee/tea/hot chocolate packets and hot water, plus some packaged cookies. T

rooperstown is owned by the proprietors of the Wicklow Heather, which is apparently the best restaurant in town. Breakfast is served at the restaurant – you drive about a mile from the B&B to the restaurant where you are allowed to order anything off of the breakfast menu. Because you also pay for your stay at the Wicklow Heather restaurant, you can pay using your credit card.

All other B&Bs in Ireland requested in cash, apparently the phone companies in Ireland charge an exorbitant fee to maintain a line for processing credit card transactions. We selected Trooperstown because of its proximity to Glendalough. After a day long visit to Glendalough and Wicklow National Park, it required only a few minutes of driving to return to our room for the night. (I suggest following the trail with white arrows in Wicklow National Park for a nice long hike with the best views.)

Trooperstown is easy to find – it is located about a mile north-east outside of the tiny town of Laragh, there is a sign on R755.

 

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Lovely rooms, friendly staff, professional and very impressive! If you want a quiet retreat, to rest, relax and unwind, it ticks every box!